Emergency center categorization standards

L. Goldfrank, P. L. Henneman, L. J. Ling, J. E. Prescott, C. Rosen, A. Sama

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

14 Scopus citations


The SAEM EC Categorization Task Force was developed in response to the 1994 Macy Foundation's recommendation that emergency medicine (EM) organizations 'should revise the classification of emergency departments ... to reflect the level of care available in emergency departments, and indicate whether or not facilities are adequate and whether appropriately qualified and credentialed emergency physicians are available 24 hours a day.' By holding Level 1 emergency centers (ECs) to objective standards based on the quality of care delivered as well as administrative, research, and educational efforts, SAEM hopes to improve patient care. The SAEM EC Categorization Task Force is now beginning the process of reviewing ECs that provide comprehensive emergency care and serve as regional resources for education, research, and administration in EM. This standards document describes relative and critical criteria to be met in order to receive designation as a Level 1 emergency center. Such centers must meet all critical criteria, and be in sufficient compliance with most or all relative criteria, in order to achieve this designation. This process is entirely voluntary. Any EC is eligible for review. Any institution can initiate the review process by applying. Application materials and further information, including the policies and procedures of the SAEM EC Categorization Task Force, are available from SAEM.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)638-655
Number of pages18
JournalAcademic Emergency Medicine
Issue number6
StatePublished - 1999


  • Categorization
  • Emergency centers
  • Emergency departments
  • SAEM
  • Standards


Dive into the research topics of 'Emergency center categorization standards'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this